Shea Butter

Here’s my new thing, I know, I know, it’s not new at all, but if you remember, I’ve been hooked on raw coconut oil for moisurizing and hair masks for a while. I then found that Shea Butter is used for the same things. It’s not mixed with anything, just the unrefined raw ingredient extracted from the Shea Nut. I’m well into these ‘Raw’ things, it feels like all the posh moisturisers just bulk things out with all these preservatives and parabens (whatever they are??) and other things we don’t have a clue of on the ingredients lists, I feel like just using the one ingredient is a bit like just cutting out the crap. True, there’s a bit more work involved, you need to melt coconut oil a little before you can use it easily and Shea butter is a little easier, but still needs to be rubbed in your palms a bit to help it melt for easy application. I like that though, it feels good, like it’s a fresh ingredient.

The lovely Lynda Robinson at Shea Care sent me over a big tub and some sample tubs so that I could give it a good test.

Testing of the butter has been great fun, the sun here in Malmo has been shining and so I’ve been visiting the Kallbadhus whenever I can, sunbathing on the decking and detoxing in the wood fired saunas then swimming in the cold sea there is great. I’ve been using the Shea Butter as a hair mask to protect and moisturise in the sauna, then as moisturiser between saunas out in the sun. RESULT- really soft skin and nice shiny hair, I really really love it as a skin moisuriser, I think I like the silkyness of coconut better for my hair, it’s just a bit greasier so can be applied better in my mind, but for the skin this one wins hands down!

Wikipedia lists a load of medicinal attributes to it as well-

Shea butter is used as a base for medicinal ointments, and has been claimed to have anti-inflammatory, emollient and humectant properties.

Shea butter has been claimed to be effective treatment for the following conditions: fading scars, eczema, burns,new tattoos rashes, severely dry skin, dark spots, skin discolorations, chapped lips, stretchmarks, wrinkles, and in lessening the irritation of psoriasis.

Shea butter has been used as a sunblocking lotion, although the level of protection against the sun’s ultraviolet radiation is extremely variable, ranging from nothing to approximately SPF 6.However, studies have shown it to reduce the effects of UV damage on the skin.

I think it’s perfect for my lifestyle, especially if it reduces the effects of UV damage! I love having a tan, god knows I spent 25 years of my life without one, but I worry about all that damage it does, so, this summer will be a Shea one for me : )

2 thoughts on “Shea Butter

  1. Gilly says:

    Here’s a reply form Emma Rogers who works for Kiehls, she sent an email, I said it would be great to have the ‘paraben’ bit on here.

    You look great in the pic as always, the hair suits you so much love it.
    I’m concerned with that sun protection bit, shea butter will not be enough on its own to protect from UVA rays so please use additional protection MRS.
    oh, and Parabens are preservatives, the shea butter will have the natural ones (the good ones) in it, also in fruit etc, synthetic ones are added to preserve the life and to stop bacteria forming.

  2. Alicej_VA says:

    I also use Sheacare Shea Butter and have to say it is the best moisturising product ever! I love rubbing my hands together and feeling the butter melt into a liquid and I can feel my skin drinking in the goodness. It’s like wrapping yourself in a hug. The effect lasts all day. Since I started to use it my skin is softer, smoother and glows with health. My skin is ultra sensitive so it’s great to finally find a product that works for my skin rather than against it. My tip is buy Shea Care Shea Butter today!

Leave a Reply

